Scorpions slip to defeat at Redcar

Jul 5th, 2018

08. Auty battling carl in ht 9


MAKESHIFT Henderson Insurance Scunthorpe Scorpions suffered a 38-52 defeat at Redcar last night (Thursday).

Currently down to just three of their own riders due to injuries, Scorpions were well served by guests Richard Lawson (14+1) and Aaron Summers (8) at the Media Prima Arena.

But Scorpions simply had too many riders missing, and despite the valiant efforts of Josh Auty (9+1), they came away from the meeting with nothing to show for their endeavour.

Speaking post-meeting, Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey said: “Richard Lawson and Aaron Summers did a good job as our guests, but it’s another meeting where we know it could have been a different story if we could have been here with a full team. But it is what it is, and we’ve just got to get on with it.

“Gino Manzares bent his best bike in a first bend incident in his first race, and that messed him up. Redcar are strong at reserve, and they took advantage.

“We won here conformably earlier in the season, but Redcar but have strengthened up and are a different team now, while so are we, while we have so many riders missing.

“Our attention has switched immediately to the home meeting at the Eddie Wright Raceway against Edinburgh on Sunday. I believe that we can still do the job in that meeting and see off the Monarchs.

“And I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, because for the home meeting against Glasgow on Sunday, July 22, we are hoping that all our injured riders will be back.”

REDCAR 52: Mikkel B Andersen 15, Jonas B Andersen 10, Jordan Stewart 9+3, Thomas Jorgensen 9+1, Ben Barker 5+1, Dimitri Berge 4, Tobias Busch 0.
SCUNTHORPE 38: Richard Lawson 14+1, Josh Auty 9+1, Aaron Summers 8, Gino Manzares 4, Jake Allen 3+1, David Wallinger 0, Stefan Nielsen r/r.

* HENDERSON INSURANCE Scunthorpe Scorpions are due to track the following side against Edinburgh at the Eddie Wright Raceway on Sunday (6.30pm start-time): 1. Rory Schlein, 2. Rider replacement for Stefan Nielsen, 3. Aaron Summers, 4. Jake Allen, 5. Josh Auty, 6. David Wallinger, 7. Gino Manzares.

© 2008 - 2019 Scunthorpe Speedway