Double Australian delight for Scorpions

Nov 18th, 2018


SCUNTHORPE SCORPIONS have started their team building for the 2019 Championship campaign, with a double signing from Down Under. The brilliant Jake Allen returns to ride for Scorpions for a third season, while a brand-new name is star-of-the-future Jedd List.

Scorpions have announced these first two riders, hot on the heels on the British Speedway AGM which took place during last week. A 38-point-limit has been put in place for the Championship, which is set to contain 12 teams.

Allen needs no introduction to Scunthorpe fans, having become a firm favourite with supporters since joining the club in August 2017.

The 23-year-old finished 2018 in superb form with Scorpions, often top scoring for the North Lincolnshire outfit. The Somerset asset loves racing around the Eddie Wright Raceway and was very keen to return to Scunthorpe.

Jedd List is 17 years old, and comes from Townsville, Queensland.

He won the Australian 250cc Championship in 2017, and he finished third in the World 250cc championship in 2016.

He has British patriality and he will join Scorpions on a 4.00 average.

Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey said: “I’m delighted and very excited with our first two signings.

“We always wanted Jake Allen back with the Scorpions. He is very popular with our supporters, a great entertainer, but most of all, he’s a superb speedway rider.

“By the end of the season, he was not only regularly scoring double figures around the Eddie Wright Raceway, but around all the other tracks too.

“My thanks go to Debbie Hancock and Garry May from Somerset, for their co-operation in allowing Jake to ride for Scorpions again in 2019.

“I realise all our supporters know about Jake, but Jedd List may be a name that they are currently less familiar with.

“But he’s a big, big talent, who I think we’ll see develop over the next few seasons, and he qualifies to ride in the Championship thanks to his British patriality.

“He’s been recommended by both Jake Allen and Ryan Douglas, while my thanks also go to Stuart Parnaby for his help in bringing Jedd to Scunthorpe.”



* 2019 Championship Clubs: Berwick, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leicester, Newcastle, Redcar, Scunthorpe, Sheffield, Somerset and Workington, plus two National Development League clubs will be moving up and joining the Championship. Both will be announced in due course.
* 7 Rider teams
* 38.00 Average
* 15 heat events
* League – Home and away once + Play-offs
* Shield – 3 Groups of 4 + Winners of each group + best runner-up
* Knock-out-Cup

© 2008 - 2019 Scunthorpe Speedway