Scunthorpe Scorpions v Somerset Rebels preview

May 16th, 2019



AFTER an eventful week, HEB Scunthorpe Scorpions commence their league fixtures, when they entertain the Somerset Rebels at the Eddie Wright Raceway tonight (Friday, 7.30pm).

Scorpions’ No 1 Josh Auty is fit to resume racing. It was feared that the Yorkshireman had broken his scaphoid (wrist), after an engine failure caused a fall at Edinburgh last week, but fortunately he has escaped a fracture.

Scunthorpe have a fresh injury doubt after new skipper Jake Allen crashed out of the Ipswich v Poole meeting last night (Thursday).

Meanwhile, Joe Lawlor will ride at No 7 for Scorpions, in place of Josh Bailey, who is taking a break from the sport.

Somerset are attractive visitors and led by three-time British Champion Chris Harris and Australian star Rory Schlein.

Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey said: “It’s been quite a week for us, but we will dust ourselves down, because we need to get our league fixtures off to the best possible start.

“Somerset Rebels have spent the last two seasons in the top-flight, but they elected to return to the second tier during the winter and are sure to be strong contenders for honours once again.

“There’s a history of cracking meetings between the two clubs at the Eddie Wright Raceway, and I can see this latest chapter being another humdinger.

“We will be going all out to win the meeting and I hope the fans turn out in numbers and really get behind the boys, on what I’m sure will be a night of top-class speedway action.”

Admission prices for tonight:

Adult: £16.00
Student/OAP: £14.00
Child (10 – 17): £5.00
Child (0 – 9) Free (accompanied by paying adult)
Family Ticket £37 (2 adults, 2 Children 10-17)
Match Programme: £1.00

Expected teams for tonight:

HEB Scunthorpe Scorpions: 1. Josh Auty, 2. Danny Ayres, 3. Jason Garrity, 4. Stefan Nielsen, 5. Kyle Howarth (guest), 6. Ryan Kinsley, 7. Joe Lawlor.

Somerset Rebels: 1. Rory Schlein, 2. Todd Kurtz, 3. Valentin Grobauer, 4. Nico Covatti, 5. Chris Harris, 6. Henry Atkins 7. Anders Rowe.

UPDATE: Jake Allen has been ruled out tonight, after a heavy fall at Ipswich last night. He is replaced tonight by Kyle Howarth.

© 2008 - 2019 Scunthorpe Speedway